Lebensgeschichten

Alma und Alberto Piaia – ein Artistenpaar im nationalsozialistisch besetzten Europa

Alma Vizla wird 1915 im lettischen Opekalna geboren. Über ihre Familie liegen kaum gesicherte Angaben vor; bekannt ist lediglich, dass ihr (wahrscheinlich älterer) Bruder Viktor ein erfolgreicher Fußballspieler wird. Diese Information ist bei aller Spärlichkeit nicht unwichtig, macht sie doch hellhörig für die Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts vielerorts erstarkte Körperbewegungskultur, für die sich offenbar auch Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Von der Völkerschau im Zirkus bis zum Bundesnachrichtendienst – Das bewegte Leben des Theodor Wonja Michael (1925-2019).

Theodor Wonja Michael wurde im Januar 1925 in Berlin geboren. Er war das jüngste von vier Kindern des kamerunischen Kolonialmigranten Theophilus Wonja Michael und dessen deutscher Ehefrau Martha, die aus Posen stammte. Als Theodor ein Jahr alt war, starb seine Mutter an einer schweren Krankheit. Aus wirtschaftlicher Not schloss sich sein Vater mitsamt seinen Kindern Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Therese Zauser – Die unglaubliche Geschichte einer international bekannten Tänzerin und Zirkuskünstlerin

Therese Zauser wurde am 4. Dezember 1910 in Feldkirch/ Österreich geboren. Der Vater Johann war Gerichtskanzlei-Oberdirektor bei der Staatsanwaltschaft Feldkirch. In seiner Freizeit war er ein passionierter Angler und darum auch Obmann des Fischerei Revierausschusses. Mutter Theresia war Hausfrau und nebenberuflich Zitherlehrerin. Therese war das Jüngste von 3 Kindern. Ihre 10 Jahre ältere Schwester Marianne Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Jacques Queyrois: Politik-Aktivist und Besitzer des Karmah Circus. Von Fakirspielen zur Französischen Resistance

Der Lebenslauf von Jaques Queyrois, der unter dem Künstlernamen „Karmah“ bekannt wurde, ist gekennzeichnet durch eine gewisse Neigung und auch Fähigkeit zur politischen Provokation. Queyrois, der 1893 in Bordeaux das Licht der Welt erblickte, arbeitete ursprünglich als Möbeltischler in Faubourg Saint-Antoine, Paris. Sein Vater Jean Queyrois war selbst Zimmermann und seine Mutter Catherine (geb. Despéries) Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Raymond Gurême: Vom Zirkusakrobaten zum Widerstandskämpfer

Raymond Gurême wurde 1925 in der Nähe von Paris als Sohn einer französischen Sinti-Familie (Manouches) geboren. Seine Eltern, wie schon mehrere Generationen der Familie vor ihnen, besaßen einen kleinen Wanderzirkus sowie ein Wanderkino: die Gurêmes zogen damit durch Frankreich, Belgien und die Schweiz, wo ihr Zirkus in ländlichen Gebieten oft die einzige Unterhaltungsquelle war und Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Die Schweizer Exilflucht der Familie Schaueryans 1943

Die Niederschrift der Fluchtgeschichte der Familie Schaueryans ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Nachfahren der Zirkusfamilie und der französischen Historikerin Laurence Prempain. Bis 1943 lebten Rosa (geb. 1902) und François Jacob Schaueryans (1903) mit ihren Kindern Edwige (geb. 1928) und Roger (geb. 1938) in Grenoble. Über den Beweggrund ihrer Flucht in die Schweiz kursieren in Read More…

Literatur

Literatur

Adelsberger, Lucie: Auschwitz. Ein Tatsachenbericht. Berlin 1956. Adelsberger, Lucie: Auschwitz: A Doctor’s Story. Boston 1995. Adelson, Betty M.: The Lives of Dwarfs. Their Journey from Public Curiosity toward Social Liberation. New Brunswick u.a. 2015. Aiolfi, Marjorie; Bouglione, Louis Sampion: Le Cirque d’hiver. Paris 2002. Barré-Meinzer, Sylvestre: Le cirque classique, un spectacle actuel. Paris 2004. Bouglione, Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Gisela Nyman (1934- ) – Ein in den Nachkriegsjahren aufgehender Artistenstern aus Leipzig

Gisela Nyman, eine geborene Blumenthal, war die eheliche Tochter eines jüdischen Vaters und einer nichtjüdischen Mutter. In Leipzig kam sie nicht zur Welt, sondern verbrachte hier auch ihre Kindheit.  Als Kind war Marika Rökk das Vorbild der jungen Gisela. Im Alter von fünf Jahren begann Gisela ihre Ballettausbildung. Hinzu kam bald auch Musikunterricht. Der Umstand, Read More…

Lebensgeschichten

Die Zirkusfamilie Esther und ihre Überlebensstrategien im Zweiten Weltkrieg

Nach dem 1. Weltkrieg führten Baptiste Esther (1893-1973) und seine Frau Méli Falck (1896-1955) mit ihren Kindern einen kleinen Familienzirkus. Von den Töchtern Rita und Zélie Esther wissen wir, dass sie mit Pferden gearbeitet haben. Baptiste Esther bildete auch seinen spanischen Ziehsohn Marius Swils aus, der mit der Familie lebte und später ein begabter Zirkusreiter Read More…

Life Stories

Alma and Alberto Piaia – an artist couple in Nazi occupied Europe

Alma Vizla was born in 1915 in the small Latvian town of Opekalna. There is an almost total lack of information about her family. The only thing known is that her (probably older) brother Viktor became an acclaimed soccer player – which points to the increasing popularity of the physical culture movement flourishing at that Read More…

Life Stories

From ethnological expositions in circuses to the Federal Intelligence Service of Germany – the eventful life of Theodor Wonja Michael (1925-2019)

Theodor Wonja Michael was born in Berlin in January 1925. He was the youngest of four children of the Cameroonian colonial migrant Theophilus Wonja Michael and his German wife Martha, who originated from Posen (Poznań). When he was one year old, his mother died of a severe illness. Out of economic need, his father joined Read More…

Life Stories

Therese Zauser – The incredible story of an internationally known dancer and circus artist

Therese Zauser was born on December 4, 1910 in Feldkirch/ Austria. Her father Johann was the court clerk’s chief director at the Feldkirch Public Prosecutor’s Office. In his spare time, he was a passionate angler and therefore also chairman of the Fisheries District Committee. Her mother Theresa was a housewife and part-time zither teacher. Therese Read More…

Life Stories

Jacques Queyrois:  Political Activist and Owner of the Circus Karmah. From Fakir Acts to the French Resistance 

Albert Queyrois, a Frenchman also known by the stage name Karmah, lived a life full of eclecticism and change. He also possessed an uncanny ability to incite political provocation. Born in Bordeaux in 1893, he was originally a cabinetmaker by trade, working in Faubourg Saint-Antoine in Paris. His father, Jean Queyrois, earned his living as a carpenter. His mother, Catherine Despéries, was Read More…

Life Stories

From circus acrobat to Resistance fighter: the story of Raymond Gurême

Raymond Gurême was born in 1925 near Paris into a French Manouche (i.e. Sinti in French) family. As did several generations of the family before them, his parents owned a small circus and a travelling cinema: the family toured France and parts of Belgium and Switzerland where they were warmly received in villages deprived of Read More…

Life Stories

The escape of the Schauerjans family to Switzerland in 1943

The transcript of the escape story of the Schauerjans family is the result of a collaboration between descendants of the circus family and the French historian Laurence Prempain. Until 1943, Rosa (born 1902) and François Jacob Schauerjans (1903) lived with their children Edwige (born 1928) and Roger (born 1938) in Grenoble, France. Two versions of Read More…

Life Stories

The Esther family and its strategy to survive WWII

After WWI, Baptiste Esther (1893-1973) and his wife Méli Falck (1896-1955) run with their children a small circus. About the daughters Rita and Zélie Esther we know that they worked with horses. Baptiste Esther trained also his Spanish godson Marius Swils who lived with the family and later became an agile horse rider. The Esthers Read More…

Project Preparation

First preparatory project meeting with members of the circus community at the circus archive Winkler in Berlin, 3.11.2018

At a first preparatory meeting concerning the conceptualizing of the exhibition, the project members explored together with members of the circus community, including representatives of the German Society of Friends of the Circus and the European Circus Association, the limits and consequences of sharing in-group knowledge, information that may carry symbolic or social weight within Read More…

Teachers

International Teaching Training Seminar in Eisenstadt (AUT)

This training seminar with international speakers is part of the project “Forgotten Cosmopolitan: The Diverging Fates of Europe’s Circus People in the Wake of the Second World War”. On the basis of already existing research results, the speakers want to inform about the life, persecution, death and survival strategies of circus people in Europe during Read More…

Life Stories

Dark Stars: An Arab-German Circus Family during the Third Reich

“He had a spectacular scar that split his palm from index finger to his wrist,” recalls Bertrand Laurence of his strongman-acrobat grandfather, Houssein ben Ibrik. “It was from his early years in Morocco. To stop the attacking blade, he’d grabbed the sword of a pirate mounted on a camel. With his other hand, he swung Read More…